Saturday, November 18, 2006

Government Structure of India

Government Type: Federal Republic

Chief of State: President Abdul Kalam

Head of Government: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh

Cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister


  • President elected by an electoral college - five-year term

  • Vice president elected by both houses of Parliament for a five-year term

  • Prime minister elected by parliamentary members of the majority party following legislative elections

  • Supreme Court - judges are appointed by the president

No comments: